The D.A.R. house opened its doors for the first time in 1936 at the Texas Centennial Exposition. It was known then as the Continental Oil Company's "Hospitality House." Visitors to the exposition could rest on the structure's grand veranda. Or, at the travel bureau inside, they could explore the Centennial Exhibition they could visit in other parts of Texas.
In 1938, the oil company donated the building to the Daughters of the American Revolution. Today, the D.A.R. house is open to the public only during the State Fair of Texas, showcasing historical items belonging to D.A.R. members.
Interesting artifacts in the house include an original Quanah Route Day badge featuring an image of Chief Quanah Parker. There is also a land grant from the days of the Republic of Texas, signed by Sam Houston, as well as State Fair badges dating to 1888.
In Marine Corps Square, in the northwest corner of Fair Park.