Most of the year, the Automobile Building sits quiet and unvisited. But when the State Fair of Texas is in full bloom, the building is teeming with car enthusiasts. They are eager to see the latest car and truck models, as well as experimental cars, that the building showcases during each fair.
The Automobile Building was built in 1947-1948. It replaced two other buildings which burned to the ground in 1942. However, it was not until 1985, when porticoes were added, that the newer building came to match its predecessor in style and symmetry.
Along the 650-foot-long exterior of the building are statues crafted by noted sculptor Raoul Josset. The female figures represent the United States, France and Mexico.
In 1999, the Friends of Fair Park secured funding that led to the re-creation on this newer building of the glorious murals by artist Pierre Bourdelle that accompanied the original building.
As you enter the main gate into Fair Park off of Parry Avenue, it is on the right of the Esplanade.